Not sure this is the best place to ask, but I just received a weird email that got me a bit worried. I am not planning on clicking on any button, but I was wondering if that is a legit email. If not, is there room for concern? In other words, should I transfer my funds to a different wallet? I am using a hardware key, so I would think I am safe, but better to make sure.

enter image description here

  • 2
    That's 100% phishing email. Do not click any links there.
    – Orbit Lens
    Nov 29, 2020 at 19:46
  • I got the same email today. I'll note that all the links in it go to the stellar.org website - if it's a phish, I don't understand how it works. It piqued my interest in the Stellar thing, I'm not a crypto guy, but something very strange is going on. I was given 150 lumens at the outset of stellar - I've not really done anything with it, except I created a new account and transferred 1 lumen to it just to do it. I can see that the balance of the original account is now 148.99999 lumens - I assume the 1 lumen I sent out and a .00001 lumen transaction fee. However, the account I created, and sen
    – solmssen
    Nov 29, 2020 at 22:08
  • @solmssen It was also "sent from" stellar. Not just spoofing the email, but with authority as if it had actually come from them. It was a very sophisticated phishing attack. I would have fallen for it had people not gotten the servers taken offline before I saw the email. Some security experts at Google were breaking it down yesterday on twitter about how well done it was.
    – Eloff
    Nov 30, 2020 at 14:57
  • Here's the link: twitter.com/FiloSottile/status/1333108901542309888
    – Eloff
    Nov 30, 2020 at 14:59

1 Answer 1


It's a phishing scam, see the discussion at reddit.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.